Level 4 NVQ Diploma in Spectator Safety (RQF)

Key Notes

This Regulated Qualification is ideal for anyone wishing to gain knowledge in Spectator Safety.

Course Duration: Typically 35 Days

This qualification is eligible for funding.

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements


Key Points


National Qualification Number: 601/7835/8

Guided Learning Hours: Between 279 and 433 hours.

Class size maximum: 12 Learners (1 Trainer)

Certificate Price* 

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

Unit 1: Develop productive working relationships with colleagues and stakeholders

Unit 2: Assist the organisation to develop and implement policies

Unit 3: Manage own resources and professional development

Unit 4: Provide information to support decision making

Unit 5: Provide learning opportunities for colleagues

Unit 6: Plan for the safety of people attending a spectator event

Unit 7: Ensure the safety of people attending a spectator event

Unit 8: Manage the use of physical resources

Unit 9: Encourage innovation in own area of responsibility

Unit 10: Allocate and monitor the progress and quality of work in own area of responsibility

Unit 11: Facilitate meetings

Unit 12: Provide advice and support for the development and implementation of quality policies

Unit 13: Implement quality assurance systems

Unit 14: Monitor compliance with quality systems

Unit 15: Manage a project

Unit 16: Recruit, select and keep colleagues

Qualification Assessment


This qualification is assessed by the following means:

    1.  Assessment and Portfolio

Multiple choice questions are used to assess the learners underpinning knowledge. Question papers are available from the compliance department. Please read the instructions carefully. 

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements

Occupational Competence Requirements:

Trainers/Assessors must have achieved as a minimum:

  • Level 3 Award in Education and Training (RQF),
  • Certificate in Education
  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education
  • SVQ Level 3 and 4 in Learning and Development
  • An A1 or A2 qualification for Assessment purposes

Trainers/Assessors must also show occupational expertise, the SIA requires that:

  • Trainers have 3 years front-line operational experience (relevant to their delivery of training) within the last 10 years.
  • Be technically competent in spectator safety.
  • Provide adequate evidence and understanding of the National Occupational Standard with the Assessment Specification.
  • Undertake and be active in Continuous Professional Development (CPD) in order to keep their occupational expertise up to date. As guidance, a minimum of 30 hours CPD activity each year is required with evidence made available upon an External Quality Assurance visit. Suitable CPD activities include but are not limited to the following:
    • Attending relevant training events, conference as seminars
    • Continuing work experience within their sector
    • Increasing professional knowledge through home study

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must:

Occupational knowledge and competence in the subject ‐ evidenced by:
– Holding a relevant subject qualification or suitable experience

Knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance – evidenced by:
– Holding a qualification/completing CPD training or working towards a suitable qualification.

Internal Quality Assurers must:
– Have knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they
are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place.
– Have knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors.
– Visit and observe assessments.
– Carry out other related internal quality assurance.

Note: It is understood that not all IQA’s will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQA’s are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally monitor and maintain the quality of assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

– SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
– RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
– Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive. 

Links and Downloads

Information Links
 Qualification Specification Qual Spec Level 4 NVQ Spectator Safety.pdf
 Funding Information https://aofaq.org.uk/funding/