Level 3 NVQ Certificate in Spectator Safety (RQF)

Key Notes

This Regulated Qualification is ideal for anyone wishing to gain knowledge in Spectator Safety.

Course Duration: Typically 14 Days

This qualification is eligible for funding.

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements


Key Points


National Qualification Number: 601/7818/8

Guided Learning Hours: Between 110 and 152 hours.

Class size maximum: 12 Learners (1 Trainer)

Certificate Price* 

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

Unit 1: Prepare Stewards and Venues for Spectator Events

Unit 2: Maintain Stewarding in Designated Areas and Deal with Spectator Problems and Emergencies

Unit 3: Deal with Accidents and Emergencies

Unit 4: Develop Productive Working Relationships with Colleagues

Unit 5: Support the Efficient use of Resources

Unit 6: Manage Own Resources and Professional Development

Unit 7: Manage Information for Action

Unit 8: Help to Manage Conflict

Unit 8: Control and Detain People at a Spectator Event for Action by the Police

Unit 9: Work with Others to Improve Customer Service

Qualification Assessment


This qualification is assessed by the following means:

    1.  Assessment and Portfolio

Multiple choice questions are used to assess the learners underpinning knowledge. Question papers are available from the compliance department. Please read the instructions carefully. 

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements

Occupational Competence Requirements:

Trainers/Assessors must have achieved as a minimum:

  • Level 3 Award in Education and Training (RQF),
  • Certificate in Education
  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education
  • SVQ Level 3 and 4 in Learning and Development
  • An A1 or A2 qualification for Assessment purposes

Trainers/Assessors must also show occupational expertise, the SIA requires that:

  • Trainers have 3 years front-line operational experience (relevant to their delivery of training) within the last 10 years.
  • Be technically competent in spectator safety.
  • Provide adequate evidence and understanding of the National Occupational Standard with the Assessment Specification.
  • Undertake and be active in Continuous Professional Development (CPD) in order to keep their occupational expertise up to date. As guidance, a minimum of 30 hours CPD activity each year is required with evidence made available upon an External Quality Assurance visit. Suitable CPD activities include but are not limited to the following:
    • Attending relevant training events, conference as seminars
    • Continuing work experience within their sector
    • -ncreasing professional knowledge through home study

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must:

Occupational knowledge and competence in the subject ‐ evidenced by:
– Holding a relevant subject qualification or suitable experience

Knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance – evidenced by:
– Holding a qualification/completing CPD training or working towards a suitable qualification.

Internal Quality Assurers must:
– Have knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they
are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place.
– Have knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors.
– Visit and observe assessments.
– Carry out other related internal quality assurance.

Note: It is understood that not all IQA’s will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQA’s are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally monitor and maintain the quality of assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

– SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
– RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
– Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive. 

Links and Downloads

Information Links
 Qualification Specification Qual Spec Level 3 NVQ Spectator Safety.docx
 Funding Information https://aofaq.org.uk/funding/