Level 3 Diploma in Customer Service (RQF)

Key Notes

This Regulated Qualification is ideal for anyone wishing to gain knowledge in Customer Service.

Course Duration: Typically 45 Days

This qualification is eligible for funding.

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements


Key Points


National Qualification Number: 601/7980/6

Guided Learning Hours: 375  (this qualification requires a minimum of 375 classroom hrs.)

Class size maximum: 12 Learners (1 Trainer)

Certificate Price* 

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

Unit 1: Develop resources to support consistency of customer service delivery

Unit 2: Use service partnerships to deliver customer service

Unit 3: Resolve customer service problems

Unit 4: Gather, analyse and interpret customer feedback

Unit 5: Monitor the quality of customer service interactions

Unit 6: Communicate verbally with customers

Unit 7: Communicate with customers in writing

Unit 8: Deliver customer service whilst working on customers’ premises

Unit 9: Exceed customer expectations

Unit 10: Deliver customer service to challenging customers

Unit 11: Support customer service improvements

Unit 12: Develop customer relationships

Unit 13: Support customers through real-time online customer service

Unit 14: Use social media to deliver customer service

Unit 15: Champion customer service

Unit 16: Build and maintain effective customer relations

Unit 17: Develop a social media strategy for customer service

Unit 18: Support customers using self-service equipment

Unit 19: Provide post-transaction customer service

Unit 20: Negotiate in a business environment

Unit 21: Promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the workplace

Unit 22: Manage team performance

Unit 23: Manage individuals’ performance

Unit 24: Collaborate with other departments

Unit 25: Negotiating, handling objections and closing sales

Unit 26: Obtaining and analysing sales-related information

Unit 27: Buyer behaviour in sales situations

Unit 28: Manage incidents referred to a contact centre

Unit 29: Lead direct sales activities in a contact centre team

Unit 30: Manage diary systems

Unit 31: Contribute to the organisation of an event

Unit 32: Provide reception services

Unit 33: Buddy a colleague to develop their skills

Unit 34: Employee rights and responsibilities

Unit 35: Processing sales orders

Qualification Assessment


This qualification is assessed by the following means:

    1.  Portfolio of Evidence 

    2.  E-Assessment

3.  Coursework

Multiple choice questions are used to assess the learners underpinning knowledge. Question papers are available from the compliance department. Please read the instructions carefully. 

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements

Trainers/Assessors must:

Subject knowledge or experience 

Trainers who deliver Level 3 Diploma in Customer Service must hold the following:

  • A valid teaching qualification as described below.
  • Level 3 Diploma in Customer Service as described below
  • A current valid certificate that is updated annually from an approved Customer Service Skills programme provider that can confirm the trainer’s abilities and skillset.

Teaching/Assessor qualifications

  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)
  • Certificate in Education (CERT ED)
  • Diploma in Education (DIP ED)
  • Preparing to teach in the lifelong learning sector (PTLLS)
  • Certificate in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (CTLLS)
  • Diploma in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (DTLLS)
  • Master of Arts in Education (MA ED)
  • Master of Arts in Professional Development, Education and Training (MA PDET)
  • Professional trainer certificate
  • IHCD Instructional methods course
  • Level 3 or 4 NVQ Learning and Development
  • CIPD Certificate in Learning Practice
  • Trainers have 3 years front-line operational experience (relevant to their delivery of training) within the last 10 years.
  • Undertake and be active in Continuous Professional Development (CPD) in order to keep their occupational expertise up to date. As guidance, a minimum of 30 hours CPD activity each year is required with evidence made available upon an External Quality Assurance visit. Suitable CPD activities include but are not limited to the following:
    • Attending relevant training events, conference as seminars
    • Continuing work experience within their sector
    • Increasing professional knowledge through home study

This is not an exhaustive list, therefore if your teaching or training qualification is not listed, please contact us. 
Note: This list is not exhaustive.

No formal Trainer/Assessor qualifications

It is recognised that trainer/assessors may not hold formal qualifications but may have significant experience in undertaking these roles. It is expected that the trainer/assessors be registered and working towards formal qualifications within one year and that the qualifications are gained within two years.

During this period a portfolio should be maintained and include details of knowledge and experience gained and the time period over which they were applied, and any contributing training undertaken and the learning outcomes achieved. There should be evidence that the individual has conducted at least two practical and two theoretical first-aid training/assessing sessions under the supervision of a qualified assessor.

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must:

Occupational knowledge and competence in the subject ‐ evidenced by:
– Holding a relevant subject qualification or suitable experience

Knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance – evidenced by:
– Holding a qualification/completing CPD training or working towards a suitable qualification.

Internal Quality Assurers must:
– Have knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they
are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place.
– Have knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors.
– Visit and observe assessments.
– Carry out other related internal quality assurance.

Note: It is understood that not all IQA’s will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQA’s are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally monitor and maintain the quality of assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

– SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
– RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
– Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive. 


Links and Downloads

Information Links
 Qualification Specification Qual Spec L3 Diploma in Customer Services.pdf
 Funding Information http://www.aofaqualifications.org/Funding