Level 2 Certificate in Employability (RQF)

Key Notes

This Regulated Qualification is ideal for anyone wishing to gain knowledge in employability skills.

Course Duration: Typically 9 days

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements


Key Points


National Qualification Number: 601/7833/4

Qualification Type: RQF

Guided Learning Hours: 74  (this qualification requires a minimum of 56 classroom hrs.)

Class size maximum: 12 Learners (1 Trainer)

Certificate Price* 

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

Unit 1: Applying for Work

Unit 2: Building and Managing Workplace Relationships

Unit 3: Communication in the Workplace

Unit 4: Customer Care

Unit 5: Developing Enterprise Skills

Unit 6: Developing Meeting Skills

Unit 7: Improving own Performance

Unit 8: Interview Skills

Unit 9: Operating in a Work Environment

Unit 10: Oral Presentation Skills

Unit 11: Personal Money Management

Unit 12: Personal Presentation in the Workplace

Unit 13: Recognising Leadership Skills

Unit 14: Recognising Prejudice and Discrimination

Unit 15: Researching Employment Opportunities

Unit 16: Responsible Work Practice

Unit 17: Rights and Responsibilities in the Workplace

Unit 18: Self-Development

Unit 19: Solving Problems in the Workplace

Unit 20: Teamwork Skills

Unit 21: Understanding Change in the Workplace

Unit 22: Understanding Structures in the Workplace

Qualification Assessment


AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements

Trainers/Assessors must:

Subject knowledge or experience 
Trainers who deliver Level 2 Certificate in Employability must hold the following:
– A valid teaching qualification as described below.
– A current valid certificate that is updated annually from an approved Employability programme provider that can confirm the trainer’s abilities and skillset.

Teaching/Assessor qualifications
– Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)
– Certificate in Education (CERT ED)
– Diploma in Education (DIP ED)
– Preparing to teach in the lifelong learning sector (PTLLS)
– Certificate in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (CTLLS)
– Diploma in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (DTLLS)
– Master of Arts in Education (MA ED)
– Master of Arts in Professional Development, Education and Training (MA PDET)
– Professional trainer certificate
– IHCD Instructional methods course
– Level 3 or 4 NVQ Learning and Development
– CIPD Certificate in Learning Practice
– Proof of 30 hours of training in any subject (must be verifiable)

This is not an exhaustive list, therefore if your teaching or training qualification is not listed, please contact us.

Note: This list is not exhaustive.

Trainers/Assessors should also be able to provide a detailed, chronological list of evidence to show that they have regularly provided Outdoor First Aid assessments during the previous three years. If this is limited, evidence of other first-aid assessments may be provided.

No formal Trainer/Assessor qualifications

It is recognised that trainer/assessors may not hold formal qualifications but may have significant experience in undertaking these roles. It is expected that the trainer/assessors be registered and working towards formal qualifications within one year and that the qualifications are gained within two years.

During this period a portfolio should be maintained and include details of knowledge and experience gained and the time period over which they were applied, and any contributing training undertaken and the learning outcomes achieved. There should be evidence that the individual has conducted at least two practical and two theoretical first-aid training/assessing sessions under the supervision of a qualified assessor.

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must:

Occupational knowledge and competence in the subject ‐ evidenced by:
– Holding a relevant subject qualification or suitable experience

Knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance – evidenced by:
– Holding a qualification/completing CPD training or working towards a suitable qualification.

Internal Quality Assurers must:
– Have knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they
are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place.
– Have knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors.
– Visit and observe assessments.
– Carry out other related internal quality assurance.

Note: It is understood that not all IQA’s will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQA’s are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally monitor and maintain the quality of assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

– SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
– RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
– Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
– V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive. 

Links and Downloads

Information Links
 Qualification Specification L2 Certificate in Employability Qual Spec.pdf