AoFAQ Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF)

About this Qualification

The AoFAQ Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF) This qualification is designed for those who work in a supervisory, management or training role and require the knowledge and skills to manage the health and safety of a workplace. It provides the underpinning knowledge in health and safety law, together with essential  knowledge in the areas of risk assessment, accident prevention, reporting of dangerous diseases and occurrences, control of substances hazardous to health (COSHH), fire safety, noise, welfare, workplace equipment, ergonomics, manual handling, personal protective equipment and staff training/supervision. Course Duration: Typically 3 days

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements

The aim of the qualification is to provide learners with the knowledge to manage and supervise the health and safety function within the workplace. This qualification is valid for 3 years. There is no requalification course which reduces the course duration. Once the qualification has expired, or due to expire the learner is required to undertake the course again in order to maintain the qualification.

Key Points

Name: AoFAQ Level 3 Award in Supervising Health and Safety in the Workplace (RQF)

Qualification Type: RQF

Guided Learning Hours: 30  (this qualification requires a minimum of 14 classroom hrs.).

Validity: 3 years

Fee per registration per candidate: £20.00

Learning Outcomes

1. Understand the requirements for health, safety and welfare in the workplace. 

1.1 Outline the main legal framework and laws relating to health and safety at work
1.2 Outline the welfare provisions that should be made by the employer
1.3 Describe the sources and nature of information that demonstrate compliance and best practice with health and safety requirements
1.4 Outline ways that health and safety information can be communicated
1.5 Define the terms ‘incident’, ‘accident’ and ‘occupational ill health’
1.6 Describe the main causes of injuries and ill health at work

2. Understand the benefits of using a safety management system.

2.1 Outline the costs associated with accidents and ill health
2.2 Summarise the typical elements of a safety management system
2.3 Outline the benefits of using a safety management system

3. Understand the principles of risk assessment. 

3.1 Outline the benefits of assessing and controlling risks at work
3.2 Describe the different types of risk assessment that can be used
3.3 State where specific risk assessments maybe required
3.4 State the steps to be taken to complete a simple risk assessment

4. Understand the risks and control methods for common workplace hazards.

4.1 Explain how the risks from different hazards may be affected by occupational, environmental, human and organizational factors
4.2 Explain how injuries, ill health and other damage may result following exposure to common workplace hazards
4.3 Identify suitable risk control measures using the principles of the hierarchy of control

Qualification Assessment

This qualification is assessed by Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs) which are set and marked by AoFAQ.

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements


AOFAQ recognises the variety of qualifications available. In order to deliver this course, the tutor must have a teaching qualification and/or teaching experience and a suitable qualification in the field of health and safety. Tutors must maintain their own continued personal development to ensure subject currency.

Acceptable teaching/ training qualifications:

The tutor must hold one of the following:  

  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)
  • Certificate in Education (CERT ED)
  • Diploma in Education (DIP ED)
  • Preparing to teach in the lifelong learning sector (PTLLS)
  • Certificate in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (CTLLS)
  • Diploma in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (DTLLS)
  • Master of Arts in Education (MA ED)
  • Master of Arts in Professional Development, Education and Training (MA PDET)
  • Professional trainer certificate
  • IHCD Instructional methods course
  • Level 3 or 4 NVQ Learning and Development
  • CIPD Certificate in Learning Practice

Proof of 30 hours of training in any subject (must be verifiable)  

If your teaching or training qualification is not listed, please contact us.

Subject knowledge or experience 

  • Level 4 Award in Managing Health and Safety in the Workplace
  • NEBOSH Level 3 Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health or equivalent
  • NEBOSH Level 6 Diploma in Occupational Safety and Health or equivalent
  • IOSH Managing Safely
  • Degree/ Dip HE in Environmental Health, Health and Safety, etc.
    Any other qualification approved by AOFAQ.

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must: 

  • Have knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they
  • are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place.
  • Have knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors.
  • Visit and observe assessments.
  • Carry out other related internal quality assurance.

Those involved in the internal quality assurance of these qualifications (IQA’s) must have knowledge and competency in the subject field as well as knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance.

An acceptable portfolio must show:

  • Occupational knowledge and competence in the subject evidenced by:
  • Holding a relevant subject qualification or suitable experience
  • Knowledge and competency in internal quality assurance evidenced by:
  • Holding a qualification/completing CPD training or working towards a suitable qualification

Acceptable qualifications for Internal Quality Assurers:

  • SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
  • RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
  • Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • V1 or D34

Note: It is understood that not all IQAs will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQAs are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

Note: This list is not exhaustive.

Links and Downloads

Information Links
Health & Safety Executive (HSE)
Qualification Specification L3 Supervising Health and Safety Qualification Specification