AoFAQ Level 2 National Award in the Principles and Practices of Infection Prevention and Control

Key Notes

The AoFAQ Level 2 National Award in the Principles and Practices of Infection Prevention and Control qualification is designed to provider learners with the underpinning knowledge to contribute to the prevention of infection and disease in the healthcare setting.

The qualification is ideal for new starters and experienced staff requiring a refresher alike and is designed for the health and social care sectors including private ambulance services, nursing homes, care homes, domiciliary care providers, nurseries, custody suites, doctor’s surgeries, dental surgeries etc..

Course Duration: Typically 1 day

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements

The qualification has been designed to incorporate the guidance and best practices of infection control from the Health Protection Agency and other Government guidance.
The qualification provides a demonstration of the employer’s commitment to fulfil their legal obligation to provide training to its employees.

Key Points

Name:  Level 2 National Award in the Principles and Practices of Infection Prevention and Control

Qualification Type: non RQF

Guided Learning Hours: 6-7

Validity: 3 years

Certificate Price £5 + VAT*

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

1. Understand the micro-organisms which can cause an infection and spread disease in the workplace.

1.1 Define what is an infection and the impact of an infection on society
1.2 Identify the micro-organisms which can cause infection and disease (including bacteria, viruses, fungi and protozoa)
1.3 List the types of common diseases and viruses which are a result of poor infection prevention
1.4 Explain the principle of binary fission and the factors required for the multiplication of bacteria
1.5 Define the term ‘pathogen’ and ‘causative agent’

2. Understand the roles and responsibilities in the workplace for preventing infection including legal obligations. 

2.1 Identify the legal obligations of employers and employees in preventing and controlling infection in the workplace in accordance with relevant legislation
2.2 List the types of infection control documentation which should be available in the workplace
2.3 Identify the actions an employee can take to reduce the risk of infection

3. Know the procedures to implement to prevent and control the spread of an infection in the workplace. 

3.1 Identify the methods which cause infection to spread including direct and indirect methods
3.2 Describe the chain of infection
3.3 Describe the procedures to implement for a spillage of blood, urine, faeces and vomit
3.4 Describe the actions to take in the event of a sharps injury
3.5 Describe the principles for disposing of contaminated waste safely including personal protective equipment

4. Know how to apply infection control precautions to minimise the risk of infection in day to day activities

.4.1 Identify the occasions when to hand wash in the workplace
4.2 Identify the types of personal protection equipment and when they should be used
4.3 Describe the principles for cleaning general equipment in the workplace
4.4 State the principles for handling laundry (including soiled linen)
4.5 States the principles for hand washing correctly using the hand washing technique

Qualification Assessment


  •  Multi Choice Questions (MCQ)

To Awarded this qualification the Learner must achieve a percentage pass in the MCQ paper.

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Scheme of Work:

  • This is a detailed construction on how to present the qualification to Learners.


  • Full colour brochure for your clients – can be branded with your Centre details

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements


AOFAQ recognises the variety of qualifications available. In order to deliver this course, the tutor must have a teaching qualification and/or teaching experience and a suitable qualification in the field of health and safety. Tutors must maintain their own continued personal development to ensure subject currency.

Acceptable teaching/ training qualifications:

The tutor must hold one of the following:  

  • Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)
  • Certificate in Education (CERT ED)
  • Diploma in Education (DIP ED)
  • Preparing to teach in the lifelong learning sector (PTLLS)
  • Certificate in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (CTLLS)
  • Diploma in teaching in the lifelong learning sector (DTLLS)
  • Master of Arts in Education (MA ED)
  • Master of Arts in Professional Development, Education and Training (MA PDET)
  • Professional trainer certificate
  • IHCD Instructional methods course
  • Level 3 or 4 NVQ Learning and Development
  • CIPD Certificate in Learning Practice
  • Proof of 30 hours of training in any subject (must be verifiable)

If your teaching or training qualification is not listed, please contact us.

Acceptable subject knowledge qualifications may include:

The tutor must hold one of the following:

  • Level 3 qualification in Health and Social Care.
  • Infection control train the trainer course.
  • Registered Nurse
  • Ambulance technician/Paramedic qualification.
  • Emergency Medical Technician
  • Attendance at an AOFAQ subject specific seminar
  • Any other qualification approved by AOFAQ.

Note: This list is not exhaustive 

No formal Trainer/Assessor qualifications

It is recognised that trainer/assessors may not hold formal qualifications but may have significant experience in undertaking these roles. It is expected that the trainer/assessors be registered and working towards formal qualifications within one year and that the qualifications are gained within two years.

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must: 

Meet the criteria of the trainer as listed.

  • Have working knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place
  • Have a thorough knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors
  • Visit and observe assessments and carry out other related internal quality assurance

Note: It is understood that not all IQAs will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQAs are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

  • SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
  • RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
  • Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive.

Links and Downloads

Information Links
Qualification Specification L2 Infection Control Qualification Specification