Level 2 Award in Fire Safety (RQF)

Key Notes

Level 2 Award in Fire Safety

The AOFAQ Level 2 Award in Fire Safety is designed to educate learners in fire safety management at work.
The qualification covers things such as fire safety inspections, legal requirements relating to fire safety in the workplace and the roles & responsibilities of the fire warden.

Course Duration: 6 hrs.

Validity: 3 years

Compliance and Regulatory Requirements

The AOFAQ Level 2 Award in Fire Safety qualification is aimed at staff that has been recently appointed or intend to be appointed as a fire marshal/warden in the workplace.

The course provides employers with a programme which assists them in proving due diligence and demonstrates their legal commitment to staff training as required by the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005.

Key Points

Name: Level 2 Award in Fire Safety

Qualification Type: RQF

Guided Learning Hours: 6 hrs

Class size maximum: 12 Learners (1 Trainer)

Validity: 3 years

Certificate Price £6.50 + VAT*

* No charge is made for Learners who have failed to attain required standard to receive the award.

Learning Outcomes

1. Understand the hazards and risks associated with fire in the workplace

1.1 Explain how fires are caused in the workplace
1.2 Describe the components of the fire triangle
1.3 Identify the hazards during or after a fire, including the products of combustion
1.4 Describe the characteristics of fire and smoke spread

 2. Understand how fire risk is controlled in the workplace

2.1 Stroke the different methods used to identify and control fire hazards
2.2 Define the term ‘means of escape’ in relation to fire hazards
2.3 Outline typical components for means of escape from fire hazards
2.4 Describe methods of fire detection and raising the alarm
2.5 Describe the principle of how fires are extinguished
2.6 Describe how portable firefighting equipment should be used safely
2.7 Identify common fixed firefighting systems and where they might be used

 3. Understand the principles and practice of fire safety management at work

3.1 Outline the duties of employers and employees with respect to fire safety in the workplace
3.2 Outline how to undertake a simple fire safety inspection in the workplace
3.3 Describe the stages involved in a fire risk assessment

 4. Understand the role of the nominated fire warden

4.1 State the role and function of fire wardens in their workplace:

  • On a day-to-day basis
  • During an emergency
  • If they are not in their designated areas of responsibility when the alarm is raised

4.2 Outline the content of a fire safety briefing

Qualification Assessment


  •  Multi Choice Questions (MCQ)

To Awarded this qualification the Learner must achieve a percentage pass in the MCQ paper.

AoFAQ Centre and Trainer Support Materials

The following is exclusively available from AoFAQ  to support the qualification:

Qualification Specification:

  • This gives details of all the Learning Outcomes with Assessment Criteria and full requirements for the qualification.

Scheme of Work:

  • This is a detailed construction on how to present the qualification to Learners.


  • AoFAQ have produced a professionally designed PowerPoint that maps the Learning Outcomes to assist the Trainer in presentation of the course. A sample of the slides can be seen in the above graphic.

All these items are available FREE of charge to AoFAQ Approved Centres when 10 Certificates are purchased in advance.

Trainer, Assessor and IQA Requirements

Trainer, Assessor Requirements


All trainers must have the skills, experience and knowledge to be able to teach and demonstrate their chosen subject discipline.

Every trainer wishing to deliver AOFAQ Qualifications must be part of an Approved Training Provider (ATP) with the Awarding Organisation and provide evidence of:

  • Holding a relevant qualification
  • Knowledge and competency in teaching/training ‐ evidenced by:
  • Holding an acceptable teaching/training qualification AND either:
  • Providing an acceptable log of teaching within the last 3 years or
  • Providing an acceptable record of competently teaching relevant theoretical sessions under the supervision of a suitably qualified Trainer/Assessor.

Internal Quality Assurers

Internal Quality Assurers must: 

Meet the criteria of the trainer as listed.

  • Have working knowledge of the requirements of the qualification they are quality assuring at the time any assessment is taking place
  • Have a thorough knowledge and understanding of the role of assessors
  • Visit and observe assessments and carry out other related internal quality assurance

Note: It is understood that not all IQAs will be qualified initially, and that sufficient time should be considered to achieve these qualifications. During this time centres should ensure that IQAs are following the principles set out in the current Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment. This could be evidenced by holding a qualification such as:

  • SQA Accredited Learning and Development Unit 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Workplace Assessment
  • RQF Qualifications based on the Learning and Development NOS 11 Internally Monitor and Maintain the Quality of Assessment
  • Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
  • V1 or D34

Note: This list is not exhaustive.

Links and Downloads

Information Links
Qualification Specification L2 Fire Safety Qualification Specification